

To be submitted to the Council at its meeting on  $28^{th}$  July 2022

# LICENSING AND COMMUNITY PROTECTION COMMITTEE

## 21st June 2022 at 5.00 p.m.

#### Present:

Councillor Westcott (in the Chair) Councillors Beasant, Boyd, Cairns, Callison, Green, Silvester (substitute for Hasthorpe) and Smith.

#### Officers in attendance:

- Adrian Moody (Licensing and Environmental Protection Manager)
- Sophie Pickerden (Committee Support Officer)
- Eve Richardson-Smith (Deputy Monitoring Officer)
- Paul Windley (Democratic and Scrutiny Team Manager)

## L.1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMAN

It was noted that at the Annual General Meeting of the Council held on 26<sup>th</sup> May, 2022, Councillor Hasthorpe had been appointed the Chair and Councillor Westcott the Deputy Chair of the Licensing and Community Protection Committee for the ensuing Municipal Year.

## L.2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence from this meeting were received from Councillors Hasthorpe, K Swinburn and Farren.

## L.3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest received in respect of any item on the agenda for this meeting.

#### L.4 MINUTES

The minutes of the Licensing and Community Protection Committee meeting held on 15<sup>th</sup> March 2022 were agreed as a correct record.

#### L.5 MEMBERSHIP OF THE HACKNEY CARRIAGE SUB COMMITTEE

The committee considered the membership of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2022-23.

It was agreed by the committee that substitute members be appointed to the sub committee in order to avoid any quoracy issues. The committee also agreed to appoint a Chair and Deputy Chair for the sub committee for the ensuing Municipal Year.

It was noted that in order to comply with proportionality rules, the requirement was for four Conservative nominations and one Labour nomination.

**RESOLVED** -

- 1. That Councillors Hasthorpe, Cairns, Smith, Callison and Green be appointed Members of the Hackney Carriage Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2022-23.
- 2. That Councillors Farren, Westcott, Boyd and K. Swinburn be appointed as substitute members of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2022-23.
- 3. That Councillor Hasthorpe be appointed as Chair of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2022-23.
- 4. That Councillor Cairns be appointed as Deputy Chair of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2022-23.

There being no further business, the Chair declared the meeting closed at 5.12 p.m.