

To be submitted to the Council at its meeting on 27th July 2023

# LICENSING AND COMMUNITY PROTECTION COMMITTEE

20<sup>th</sup> June 2023 at 5.00 p.m.

#### **Present:**

Councillor Hasthorpe (in the Chair)
Councillors Beasant (substitute for McLean), Boyd, Batson (substitute for K
Swinburn), Farren, Haggis, Pettigrew (substitute for Reynolds), Sandford, Smith
and Westcott.

#### Officers in attendance:

- Adrian Moody (Licensing and Environmental Protection Manager)
- Sophie Pickerden (Committee Support Officer)
- Gemma Broderick (Solicitor)
- Paul Windley (Democratic and Scrutiny Team Manager)

#### L.1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMAN

It was noted that at the Annual General Meeting of the Council held on 25<sup>th</sup> May, 2023, Councillor Hasthorpe had been appointed the Chair and Councillor Westcott the Deputy Chair of the Licensing and Community Protection Committee for the ensuing Municipal Year.

## L.2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence from this meeting were received from Councillors McLean, Reynolds and K Swinburn.

### L.3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest received in respect of any item on the agenda for this meeting.

## L.4 MINUTES

The minutes of the Licensing and Community Protection

Committee meeting held on 7<sup>th</sup> March 2023 were agreed as a correct record.

# L.5 MEMBERSHIP OF THE HACKNEY CARRIAGE SUB COMMITTEE

The committee considered the membership of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2023-24.

It was agreed by the committee that substitute members be appointed to the sub committee in order to avoid any quoracy issues. The committee also agreed to appoint a Chair and Deputy Chair for the sub committee for the ensuing Municipal Year.

It was noted that in order to comply with proportionality rules, the requirement was for three Conservative members, one Labour member and one Liberal Democrat member.

It was requested that the substitute for the Labour member be confirmed by the Labour group as soon as possible and that this be confirmed with the Chair of the Licensing and Community Protection Committee.

#### RESOLVED -

- 1. That Councillors Beasant, Haggis, Hasthorpe, Smith and Westcott be appointed Members of the Hackney Carriage Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2023-24.
- That Councillors McLean, Pettigrew, Reynolds and Sandford be appointed as substitute members of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2023-24.
- 3. That the name of the Labour substitute for the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2023-24 be confirmed with the Chair as soon as possible.
- 4. That Councillor Hasthorpe be appointed as Chair of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2023-24.
- That Councillor Westcott be appointed as Deputy Chair of the Hackney Carriage Sub Committee for the municipal year 2023-24.

There being no further business, the Chair declared the meeting closed at 5.15 p.m.